South Africa Overview Nations // Africa

OVERVIEW South Africa is located at the southern tip of the African continent and is bordered to the east by Swaziland (Eswatini) and Mozambique, to the south and east by the Indian Ocean, to the south and west by the Atlantic Ocean and to the north by Namibia, Botswana and Zimbabwe. Lesotho is an independent nation surrounded by South Africa. The end of apartheid in 1994 sparked dramatic changes in the nation's strategic environment. The country was no longer regarded as a pariah...


Like what you're reading? Become a member.

To become a member, please call (+1) 202-450-3967 or click here to
request subscription information.

If you are already a member, please log in to view this content.