Bolivia Navy Nations // South America

OVERVIEW The Bolivian navy consists of six naval districts covering Lake Titicaca and the major rivers, which are tributaries of the Amazon. One marine battalion is maintained in each of the six naval districts. Bolivia lost its coastal access in an 1879-1884 war with Chile. The navy primarily exists to patrol Bolivia's 5,000 miles of rivers. In October 2010, Peru granted Bolivia the use of a 3-mile strip of land near the Peruvian port of Ilo as non-sovereign territory, thus giving...


Like what you're reading? Become a member.

To become a member, please call 888-275-2264 or click here to
request subscription information.

If you are already a member, please log in to view this content.