Czech Republic Overview Nations // North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO)

OVERVIEW Czechoslovakia officially split in two separate nations -- the Czech Republic and the Slovak Republic -- on Jan. 1, 1993. The Czech Republic is a landlocked nation bordered to the northwest and west by Germany, to the northeast by Poland, to the east by Slovakia and to the south by Austria. According to the Czech defense strategy published in March 2017, the country's primary defense concerns are increasing Russian activity in Eastern Europe, regional instability, border...


Like what you're reading? Become a member.

To become a member, please call (+1) 202-450-3967 or click here to
request subscription information.

If you are already a member, please log in to view this content.