Croatia Overview Nations // North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO)

OVERVIEW The Republic of Croatia declared its independence from Yugoslavia on June 25, 1991, touching off a war with the Yugoslav Federal Republic, then-dominated by Serbia, that lasted until 1992. Located on the Balkan Peninsula, Croatia borders Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Hungary, Serbia, Slovenia and the Adriatic Sea. A member of NATO (2009), Croatia also became the 28th member of the European Union -- though it took more than a decade to finish the latter process in 2013....


Please log in to continue reading.

Not yet a subscriber?  Take a free trial.



Military Periscope gives you easy-to-use, integrated, open-source intelligence on…

  • More than 7,500 weapons systems and platforms
  • Nearly every country’s armed forces
  • Militant organizations


Try Military Periscope free for seven days