United Arab Emirates Overview Nations // Middle East/North Africa

OVERVIEW In 1892, the U.K. obtained control over the foreign and defense policies of the Trucial States -- Abu Dhabi, Ajman, Dubai, Fujairah, Sharjah and Umm al-Qaiwan. Qatar and Bahrain were also Trucial States between 1968 and 1971. Later in 1971, the six emirates gained independence from Britain and formed the confederation of United Arab Emirates (U.A.E.), officially called Dawlat al Imarat al Arabiyya al Muttahida (States of the United Arab Emirates). Ras al-Khaimah joined the...


Please log in to continue reading.

Not yet a subscriber?  Take a free trial.



Military Periscope gives you easy-to-use, integrated, open-source intelligence on…

  • More than 7,500 weapons systems and platforms
  • Nearly every country’s armed forces
  • Militant organizations


Try Military Periscope free for seven days