Turkmenistan Overview Nations // Eurasian Republics

OVERVIEW The Republic of Turkmenistan, located in Central Asia, is bordered by Afghanistan, Iran, Kazakhstan and Uzbekistan; it also borders the Caspian Sea. Turkmenistan achieved its independence upon the dissolution of the Soviet Union in 1991. As a central component of the Turkestan Military District, Turkmenistan experienced a large buildup of Soviet troops during the Afghanistan war in the 1980s. Naval forces and coastal artillery were also stationed in Turkmenistan as a component...


Please log in to continue reading.

Not yet a subscriber?  Take a free trial.



Military Periscope gives you easy-to-use, integrated, open-source intelligence on…

  • More than 7,500 weapons systems and platforms
  • Nearly every country’s armed forces
  • Militant organizations


Try Military Periscope free for seven days