Military Periscope Logo

Sri Lanka

armed forces structure


The army is organized into seven regional headquarters with 22 divisional headquarters. Operational units are based on regiments, with each unit having regular and reserve battalions.

The Sri Lankan army includes the following units:

   1 armored brigade
   3 armored reconnaissance regiments
   1 air mobility brigade
   55 infantry brigades
   1 mechanized infantry brigade
   1 commando brigade
   1 special forces regiment
   7 artillery regiments
   1 multiple rocket...

Please log in to continue reading.

Not yet a subscriber? Take a free trial.

Military Periscope gives you easy-to-use, integrated, open-source intelligence on…

  • More than 7,500 weapons systems and platforms
  • Nearly every country's armed forces
  • Militant organizations
laptop image

Try Military Periscope free for seven days

Military Periscope Logo

Your online source for military news, weapons, and nation's armed forces worldwide

Military Periscope FEDLINK information

Service ID: UC

Contract Number: LCFDL24D0002

Military Periscope is a product of GovExec.

600 New Hampshire Ave., Suite 510,

Washington DC, 20037, USA.

©Military Periscope 2024

All rights reserved. Redistribution of the content is prohibited without prior consent of Military Periscope.