South Korea Overview Nations // Asia

OVERVIEW South Korea, known officially as the Republic of Korea (ROK) is bounded to the north by the Democratic People's Republic of Korea (DPRK), to the east by the Sea of Japan (East Sea), to the west by the Yellow Sea and to the south by the Korean Strait (separating it from Japan). The modern defense structure and military alliance patterns of the Republic of Korea (ROK) are a result of the Korean War (1950 to 1953) and continuing tensions with North Korea. The Korean War ended...


Like what you're reading? Become a member.

To become a member, please call (+1) 202-450-3967 or click here to
request subscription information.

If you are already a member, please log in to view this content.