Military Periscope Logo

South Korea

armed forces structure


The South Korean navy is headed by the Naval Operations Command, headquartered at Pusan (Busan).

The navy is organized into:

  3 fleet commands
  1 submarine command
  3 flotillas
  1 air wing

The main fleets are:

    1st Fleet, HQ Donghae -- responsible for defense of the East Coast 2nd Fleet, HQ Pyongtaek -- responsible for defense of the West Coast 3rd Fleet, HQ Mokpo -- responsible for defense of the southern peninsula and Cheju Do Island an independent submarine command in...

Please log in to continue reading.

Not yet a subscriber? Take a free trial.

Military Periscope gives you easy-to-use, integrated, open-source intelligence on…

  • More than 7,500 weapons systems and platforms
  • Nearly every country's armed forces
  • Militant organizations
laptop image

Try Military Periscope free for seven days

Military Periscope Logo

Your online source for military news, weapons, and nation's armed forces worldwide

Military Periscope FEDLINK information

Service ID: UC

Contract Number: LCFDL24D0002

Military Periscope is a product of GovExec.

600 New Hampshire Ave., Suite 510,

Washington DC, 20037, USA.

©Military Periscope 2024

All rights reserved. Redistribution of the content is prohibited without prior consent of Military Periscope.