North Korea Overview Nations // Asia

OVERVIEW The Democratic People's Republic of Korea (DPRK), or North Korea, is bordered in the north by China, to the west by the Yellow Sea, to the south by South Korea, to the east by the Sea of Japan (or East Sea) and to the northeast by Russia. The border between North and South Korea is the military demarcation line (MDL), which marks the separation between the two sides at the time of the armistice agreement ending the Korean War (1950-1953). A demilitarized zone (DMZ) has been...


Like what you're reading? Become a member.

To become a member, please call (+1) 202-450-3967 or click here to
request subscription information.

If you are already a member, please log in to view this content.