Military Periscope Logo

North Korea

armed forces structure


The North Korean navy is divided into the Yellow Sea Fleet (West Coast Fleet) and the East Sea Fleet (East Coast Fleet). The Yellow Sea fleet is headquartered at Nampo Dong, while the East Sea Fleet is headquartered at Toejo. Together, the fleet commands oversee at least 13 naval squadrons and two sniper brigades. The fleets do not exchange vessels because geographical limitations make mutual support almost impossible.

The navy, in conjunction with the army and air force,...

Please log in to continue reading.

Not yet a subscriber? Take a free trial.

Military Periscope gives you easy-to-use, integrated, open-source intelligence on…

  • More than 7,500 weapons systems and platforms
  • Nearly every country's armed forces
  • Militant organizations
laptop image

Try Military Periscope free for seven days

Military Periscope Logo

Your online source for military news, weapons, and nation's armed forces worldwide

Military Periscope FEDLINK information

Service ID: UC

Contract Number: LCFDL24D0002

Military Periscope is a product of GovExec.

600 New Hampshire Ave., Suite 510,

Washington DC, 20037, USA.

©Military Periscope 2024

All rights reserved. Redistribution of the content is prohibited without prior consent of Military Periscope.