Cape Verde Overview Nations // Africa

OVERVIEW A former Portuguese colony, Cape Verde is an archipelago of five islets and 10 islands located 370 miles west of Senegal off the west coast of Africa. The islands are divided into two groups, Barlavento and Sotavento. Praia, the capital, is located on Santiago, in the southern Sotavento islands. Cape Verde gained independence from Portugal in 1975, a year after sister colony Guinea-Bissau. A unification plan was scrapped because of the 1980 coup in Guinea-Bissau. After...


Like what you're reading? Become a member.

To become a member, please call (+1) 202-450-3967 or click here to
request subscription information.

If you are already a member, please log in to view this content.