Indonesia Overview Nations // Southeast Asia

OVERVIEW The Republic of Indonesia is a large archipelago extending 3,182 miles (5,120 km) from east to west and 1,094 miles (1,760 km) from north to south. It encompasses 17,508 islands, of which about 6,000 are inhabited. There are five main islands (Sumatra, Java, Kalimantan, Sulawesi and Papua), two major archipelagos (the Sunda Chain and the Moluccas Islands) and 30 smaller archipelagos. Three of the islands are shared with other nations: Kalimantan (also known as Borneo, the...


Like what you're reading? Become a member.

To become a member, please call (+1) 202-450-3967 or click here to
request subscription information.

If you are already a member, please log in to view this content.