Guyana Overview Nations // South America

OVERVIEW The Cooperative Republic of Guyana is on the northern coast of South America. Once known as British Guiana, it gained independence from Britain in 1966. It is bordered to the north by the Atlantic Ocean, west by Venezuela, west and south by Brazil and east by Suriname. President Donald Ramotar suspended Guyana’s Parliament in November 2014 in order to avoid a no-confidence vote. He defended his action by claiming that he was protecting the national economy. The opposition...


To access Military Periscope's free resources, please sign up for a free trial.

If you are already a Military Periscope subscriber, please log in to access the page.