Ecuador Overview Nations // South America

OVERVIEW The Republic of Ecuador is bordered north by Colombia, east and south by Peru and west by the Pacific Ocean. The Galapagos Islands (Archipielago de Colon), approximately 620 miles (1,000 km) west of the mainland, is a province of Ecuador. Ecuador is divided into three distinct geographic zones: the Sierra or uplands of the Andes; the Costa or coastal plain between the Andes and the Pacific Ocean; and the Oriente or upper Amazon basin east of the Andes. The Oriente contains...


Please log in to continue reading.

Not yet a subscriber?  Take a free trial.



Military Periscope gives you easy-to-use, integrated, open-source intelligence on…

  • More than 7,500 weapons systems and platforms
  • Nearly every country’s armed forces
  • Militant organizations


Try Military Periscope free for seven days