Turkey Overview Nations // North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO)

OVERVIEW The Republic of Turkey is bordered in the west by the Aegean Sea and Greece; in the south by Iraq, Syria and the Mediterranean Sea; in the east by Georgia, Armenia and Iran; and in the north by Bulgaria and the Black Sea. Turkey's primary defense concerns are the Kurdish opposition in the east and southeast; border disputes with Iran and Greece (including Cyprus); the Kurdish separatist movement; the unrest and violence in Iraq; and the effects of the civil war in neighboring...


Like what you're reading? Become a member.

To become a member, please call (+1) 202-450-3967 or click here to
request subscription information.

If you are already a member, please log in to view this content.