Slovenia Overview Nations // North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO)

OVERVIEW Slovenia is bordered to the north by Austria, the east by Hungary, the south by Croatia, and the west by Italy and the Adriatic Sea. Slovenia is the northernmost and most prosperous of the six republics that made up the former Yugoslavia. A onetime imperial Habsburg territory, ethnically homogenous Slovenia has generally considered itself as a Western European state. After World War I, the Slovenes joined with Serbs and Croats in forming the multinational Yugoslavia. Slovenia...


Please log in to continue reading.

Not yet a subscriber?  Take a free trial.



Military Periscope gives you easy-to-use, integrated, open-source intelligence on…

  • More than 7,500 weapons systems and platforms
  • Nearly every country’s armed forces
  • Militant organizations


Try Military Periscope free for seven days