Slovak Republic Overview Nations // North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO)

OVERVIEW The Slovak Republic is a land-locked nation in Central Europe bordered to the north by Poland, to the northwest by the Czech Republic, to the west by Austria, to the south by Hungary and to the east by Ukraine. The "Velvet Revolution" swept the Communist Party from power in Czechoslovakia in 1989. Slovakia was part of Czechoslovakia until January 1993. The breakup into two nations has been called the "Velvet Divorce." NATO Membership On Feb. 9, 1994, the Slovak Republic...


To access Military Periscope's free resources, please sign up for a free trial.

If you are already a Military Periscope subscriber, please log in to access the page.