Netherlands Overview Nations // North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO)

OVERVIEW Much of the Dutch empire dating to colonial days has been granted independence or autonomy. Indonesia formally gained independence from the Netherlands in 1949, followed by Suriname in 1975. The Netherlands Antilles (Curacao, Bonaire, Saba, St. Eustatius and St. Maarten) and Aruba were longtime Dutch possessions, but with a large degree of autonomy. In October 2010, the Netherlands Antilles dissolved, and Curacao and St. Maarten became autonomous nations within the kingdom...


Please log in to continue reading.

Not yet a subscriber?  Take a free trial.



Military Periscope gives you easy-to-use, integrated, open-source intelligence on…

  • More than 7,500 weapons systems and platforms
  • Nearly every country’s armed forces
  • Militant organizations


Try Military Periscope free for seven days