Hungary Overview Nations // North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO)

OVERVIEW The Republic of Hungary is bordered to the north by Slovakia; northeast by Ukraine; east by Romania; south by Serbia and Croatia; southwest by Slovenia; and to the west by Austria. The Hungarian government played an important role in hastening the demise of communism when it allowed thousands of East Germans to escape to the West by opening its border with Austria in 1989. Hungary also was quicker than others in the Eastern Bloc to embrace aspects of a market economy while...


Like what you're reading? Become a member.

To become a member, please call (+1) 202-450-3967 or click here to
request subscription information.

If you are already a member, please log in to view this content.