Cyprus Overview Nations // Non-aligned Europe

OVERVIEW The Republic of Cyprus is a strategically located island in the eastern Mediterranean Sea, 50 miles (80 km) south of Turkey and 65 miles (105 km) west of Syria. The 1960 independence treaty gave the U.K., Greece and Turkey intervention rights. The U.K. retained, and still maintains, two "Sovereign Base Areas" covering a total of 98 square miles (254 sq km) at Akrotiri and Dhakelia. They are under British jurisdiction. North-South Split A split between the Greek and Turkish...


Like what you're reading? Become a member.

To become a member, please call (+1) 202-450-3967 or click here to
request subscription information.

If you are already a member, please log in to view this content.