Austria Overview Nations // Non-aligned Europe

OVERVIEW Austria is bordered to the west by Switzerland; north by the Czech Republic and Germany; east by Slovakia and Hungary; and south by Italy and Slovenia. Austria's post-Cold War military policies have focused on developing a full-time standing army and rapid-reaction force, replacing a reservist-based system. Despite its permanent neutrality that was declared in 1955, Austria has established closer ties with the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO). In February 1995, Austria...


Like what you're reading? Become a member.

To become a member, please call (+1) 202-450-3967 or click here to
request subscription information.

If you are already a member, please log in to view this content.