Uzbekistan Overview Nations // Eurasian Republics

OVERVIEW The Republic of Uzbekistan is bordered to the north and to the west by Kazakhstan, to the northeast by Kyrgyzstan, to the east by Tajikistan and to the south by Turkmenistan and Afghanistan. The world's only double-landlocked country, Uzbekistan does not have access to the open seas. Its only shoreline (420 km, 261 mi) lies on the Aral Sea. About three-fifths of Uzbekistan is covered with desert and steppes, with much of the population located in the Fergana Valley, Tashkent...


Please log in to continue reading.

Not yet a subscriber?  Take a free trial.



Military Periscope gives you easy-to-use, integrated, open-source intelligence on…

  • More than 7,500 weapons systems and platforms
  • Nearly every country’s armed forces
  • Militant organizations


Try Military Periscope free for seven days