Kyrgyzstan Overview Nations // Eurasian Republics

OVERVIEW The Kyrgyz Republic is a landlocked Central Asian nation bordered to the north by Kazakhstan (1,224 km [761 miles]), to the east by China (858 km [533 miles]), to the south by Tajikistan (870 km [541 miles]) and to the west by Uzbekistan (1,099 km [683 miles]). The nation's capital is Bishkek. Kyrgyzstan had an estimated population of 5.7 million as of 2017. Kyrgyz make up 70.9 percent; Uzbeks, 14.3 percent; and Russians, 7.7 percent. Several other groups account for the...


Like what you're reading? Become a member.

To become a member, please call (+1) 202-450-3967 or click here to
request subscription information.

If you are already a member, please log in to view this content.