Georgia Overview Nations // Eurasian Republics

OVERVIEW The Republic of Georgia is bordered to the north by Russia, to the west by the Black Sea, to the south by Turkey and Armenia and to the east by Azerbaijan. The country remains fragmented following a 1991 civil war that left three of its regions -- Abkhazia, South Ossetia and Adjara -- outside the control of the central government. Georgia's security concerns have focused on the potential reintegration of these regions, as well as international relations with Russia and the...


Like what you're reading? Become a member.

To become a member, please call 888-275-2264 or click here to
request subscription information.