Guatemala Overview Nations // Central America/Caribbean

OVERVIEW The Republic of Guatemala is bordered to the north by Mexico, to the east by Belize and Honduras, and to the south by El Salvador. Domestic defense capacity is limited, with only minor maintenance capabilities. Following the end of the civil war in 1996, Guatemala's primary security threat has been that posed by transnational criminal organizations, which often smuggle goods across the shared border with El Salvador and Honduras, known as the Northern Triangle. Civil War In...


Please log in to continue reading.

Not yet a subscriber?  Take a free trial.



Military Periscope gives you easy-to-use, integrated, open-source intelligence on…

  • More than 7,500 weapons systems and platforms
  • Nearly every country’s armed forces
  • Militant organizations


Try Military Periscope free for seven days