Taiwan Overview Nations // Asia

OVERVIEW The Republic of China (ROC), also known as Taiwan, is located 85 miles off the coast of the People's Republic of China. It borders the Pacific Ocean to the east and the Taiwan Strait on the west. Taipei, the capital, administers the Penghu Islands (Pescadores) and about 20 other offshore islands including Quemoy, Matsu, Pratas (Tungsha) and a number of atolls and reefs in the disputed Spratly Island group. The communist People's Republic of China (PRC) represents the most formidable...


Like what you're reading? Become a member.

To become a member, please call 888-275-2264 or click here to
request subscription information.

If you are already a member, please log in to view this content.