Japan Overview Nations // Asia

OVERVIEW Japan's four main islands -- Honshu, Hokkaido, Kyushu and Shikoku -- are bordered in the north by the Sea of Okhotsk, in the west by the Sea of Japan, in the east by the Pacific Ocean and south by the East China Sea. In an arc stretching 600 miles from Kyushu to the northern tip of Taiwan are the Ryukyu islands. Etorofu, Kunashiri and Shikotan islands, as well as the Habomai group, were occupied by the Soviet Union at the very end of World War II. These islands, also known...


Please log in to continue reading.

Not yet a subscriber?  Take a free trial.



Military Periscope gives you easy-to-use, integrated, open-source intelligence on…

  • More than 7,500 weapons systems and platforms
  • Nearly every country’s armed forces
  • Militant organizations


Try Military Periscope free for seven days