Zambia Overview Nations // Africa

OVERVIEW The Republic of Zambia, formerly a British colony, became independent in 1964. Zambia is a land-locked nation, sharing borders with the Democratic Republic of Congo and Tanzania to the north, Malawi and Mozambique to the east, Zimbabwe and Namibia to the south and Angola to the west. Two lakes, one on the border with Zimbabwe and one shared with the Democratic Republic of Congo and Tanzania, represent Zambia's only maritime access. Zambia was once one of the richest African...


Like what you're reading? Become a member.

To become a member, please call (+1) 202-450-3967 or click here to
request subscription information.

If you are already a member, please log in to view this content.