South Sudan Overview Nations // Africa

OVERVIEW Landlocked South Sudan, which became independent in July of 2011, is Africa's youngest nation. It is bordered by Sudan to the north, Ethiopia to the east, Uganda and Kenya to the southeast, Democratic Republic of Congo to the southwest and Central African Republic to the west. As the world's poorest and least developed nation, South Sudan relies heavily on foreign aid for support. The capital is Juba. The decision to secede from Sudan and subsequent peace deal ended the continent's...


Please log in to continue reading.

Not yet a subscriber?  Take a free trial.



Military Periscope gives you easy-to-use, integrated, open-source intelligence on…

  • More than 7,500 weapons systems and platforms
  • Nearly every country’s armed forces
  • Militant organizations


Try Military Periscope free for seven days