Namibia Overview Nations // Africa

OVERVIEW Located on the western coast of southern Africa, Namibia is bordered to the north by Angola and Zambia, to the east by Botswana and to the south by South Africa. After almost 25 years of low-level conflict, Namibia was granted sovereign status by South Africa on April 1, 1989. Official independence was granted on March 21, 1990, following the ratification of the Namibian constitution. A former German protectorate, the territory was a mandate of South Africa from 1919 to...


Like what you're reading? Become a member.

To become a member, please call (+1) 202-450-3967 or click here to
request subscription information.

If you are already a member, please log in to view this content.