Guinea Overview Nations // Africa

OVERVIEW The Republic of Guinea is a former French colony bordered to the north by Guinea-Bissau, Senegal and Mali; to the east by Ivory Coast; to the south by Liberia and Sierra Leone; and to the west by the Atlantic Ocean. Its capital is Conakry. Post Independence After gaining independence in 1958, Guinea turned away from France and sought close relations with the Soviet Union. After Guinea's relatively short period with multi-party politics, Sekou Toure ran a personal and repressive...


Please log in to continue reading.

Not yet a subscriber?  Take a free trial.



Military Periscope gives you easy-to-use, integrated, open-source intelligence on…

  • More than 7,500 weapons systems and platforms
  • Nearly every country’s armed forces
  • Militant organizations


Try Military Periscope free for seven days