Equatorial Guinea Overview Nations // Africa

OVERVIEW The Republic of Equatorial Guinea is a former Spanish colony on the west central coast of sub-Saharan Africa. The republic consists of a mainland section, Rio Muni, and several offshore islands, including Bioko and Annobon, both located in the Gulf of Guinea. Rio Muni is bounded on the north by Cameroon, on the east and south by Gabon, and on the west by the Gulf of Guinea. The capital is located at Malabo on the island of Bioko, off the coast of Cameroon. In the 1970s,...


Like what you're reading? Become a member.

To become a member, please call (+1) 202-450-3967 or click here to
request subscription information.

If you are already a member, please log in to view this content.