Democratic Republic of the Congo Overview Nations // Africa

OVERVIEW The Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC), formerly Zaire, is the largest nation in sub-Saharan Africa. It contains the Congo River basin, which occupies most of the center of the continent. A small coastline, 23 miles (37 km) long, separates Angola's Cabinda province to the north from the rest of Angola. Lakes Tanganyika, Mweru and others make up much of the eastern and southeastern border. Nine countries share a boundary with the DRC. The nation is bordered to the southwest...


Like what you're reading? Become a member.

To become a member, please call (+1) 202-450-3967 or click here to
request subscription information.

If you are already a member, please log in to view this content.