Benin Overview Nations // Africa

OVERVIEW The Republic of Benin (formerly Dahomey) in West Africa is bounded by Nigeria on the east, Niger in the northeast, Burkina Faso in the northwest, Togo in the west and the Gulf of Guinea in the south. Its official capital is Porto-Novo, but its de-facto administrative capital and largest port is Cotonou. Domestic defense capacity is limited to maintenance work. There is no defense manufacturing A small and impoverished country, Benin faces little in the way of major international...


To access Military Periscope's free resources, please sign up for a free trial.

If you are already a Military Periscope subscriber, please log in to access the page.