Angola Overview Nations // Africa

OVERVIEW Angola, on the west coast of southern Africa, is bordered to the south by Namibia, east by Zambia, north by the Democratic Republic of the Congo and west by the Atlantic Ocean. Angola also includes the small noncontiguous enclave of Cabinda, which is bordered to the north by the Congo Republic and to the south by a strip of the Democratic Republic of the Congo. Angola became independent from Portugal in 1975. Thereafter, it experienced protracted external conflict that also...


Like what you're reading? Become a member.

To become a member, please call (+1) 202-450-3967 or click here to
request subscription information.

If you are already a member, please log in to view this content.