Serbia Overview Nations // Non-aligned Europe

OVERVIEW A landlocked nation in the Balkans, the Republic of Serbia shares frontiers with eight other countries. It is bordered to the north by Hungary, east by Romania and Bulgaria, south by Macedonia and Kosovo, southwest by Montenegro, and west by Croatia and Bosnia and Herzegovina. In 1991, following declarations of independence by Slovenia and Croatia, the Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia (SFRY) began to fall apart. As its constituent republics declared independence...


Like what you're reading? Become a member.

To become a member, please call 888-275-2264 or click here to
request subscription information.

If you are already a member, please log in to view this content.